The Finer Things in Life

Weddings for Heroes Launch Party

Posted on: March 16, 2012

Image“So Good to give back!”  I feltl that way on February 28th when I attended and worked at The Launch Party for Weddings For Heroes.

Last year I met Sandi Silva on Facebook and was lucky enough to meet her last spring and do some work with last summer. I knew as soon as we met that this was a woman I was meant to know for so many reasons.

Last summer when I delivered Parlor Room Gift Baskets to her for an upcoming wedding,she mentioned to me that there was going to be a lauch party that was going to closer to me. I did not really think of it again until I found out that she and her wonderful group were launching Weddings For Heroes.

Weddings For Heroes provides weddings for U.S. military personnel. U.S. combat veterans and active duty military who are facing hardships, or are underprivileged as not cost to them. How amazing is that!

Then the buzz started that Sandi was going to be on this news station,that radio station and so on. I heard the interview on WCBS radio and was so impressed!

Then,I knew The Launch Party was taking place on February 28th at The Oyster Point Hotel in Red Bank,New Jersey.I knew I had to attend but the big question was how do I get there and get back.

It was solved right down to the wire but I got to go. My trip was not to be a solo one. I went with Annette Davidson,an event planner, as well as Susan Ng,of “Naturally Susan’s.”

Christine Brower told us we would be put to work which was exactly what I wanted. Susan,Annette and I helped to set up and to register people and military attending this gala event.

There were raffles including baking lessons with Buddy Valastro from Carlo’s Baskery. Nobody went hungry nor thirsty and vendors got to showcase their creations.People were so generous with their donations.

The night was filled with such joy and hope! Miss New Jersey was there being as gracious and helpful as possible. You can see a photo of her on Weddings for Heroes Photos as well as meeting Sandi and more.

We got to meet the next couple receiving a wedding in May.

If you want to learn more about Weddings For Heroes,make a donation or donate your sevices: Go to:info@weddingsforheroes.org or call: 1-855-6-heroes

Also,For more info: Go to:www.basket-mania.com

2 Responses to "Weddings for Heroes Launch Party"

Thank you for the wonderful article!! You were such a big help. It was so great working with you again!! We are overwhelmed with the offer of support by the community and vendors. I look forward to many more opportunites for us to work together.

Sandi Silva
Vice-President, Co-Founder
Weddings For Heroes

Thank you for attending and being a part of our launch event and for this beautiful post! It was a great night!

Leave a Reply

