The Finer Things in Life

Giving Back

Posted on: May 27, 2011

Avon Walk for Breast Cancer-October,2010

As Memorial Day approaches I realized that “Giving Back” would be a most appropriate blog post.

I was thinking this morning how the soldiers all through time went into battle to make us free and safe knowing very well that they might not live to  see the next day but onward and upward they went.
It is most fitting that we honor these brave men and women.
Last year around this time I wanted to do somethng to give back. My mom,(my angel) battled breast cancer and so did two good friends.
My friend Lisa decided to do the walk and last June I signed on and felt good about my decision.For the next four and a half months I trained for the walk which was two days and over 26 miles.
I also had to raise $1700. Friends and family were more than generous to me and I want to thank them again for opening their hearts and purses for this wonderful cause.
It was like a job because I was determined to raise all of the money so I could walk for them. I had to get creative. Two Weight Watcher leaders let me talk at meetings,I stood in front of my local supermarket and had a fundraiser where I had raffles and my dance teacher Andrzej taught dance lessons to raise money as well as sitting outside on a bench on a vacation at The Jersey Shore.
I was outside of my comfort zone but I kept reminding myself of why I was doing all this and it spurred me on.
I raised my last few dollars hours before I had to turn in the money.
Lisa and I had an amazing experience walking the walk with thousands of others.The spirit was high and we walked on adrenalin.
It was amazing to reach the finish line which is the photo I have included in this blog. Suze Orman was the speaker at the closing ceremony.
I will never forget that experience.
I am eager to do another cancer walk again.
It felt wonderful that I had accomplished my goal and was helping to educate people as well as having a part in raising money that would go to eradicate this insidious disease.
Have a great holiday weekend! Think about you can give back!

Leave a comment